Reflections

Reflecting back on this year, i have so much to be grateful for. It has been a year of incredible change. Many moves, many new friends, and many lessons learned. As i stand here on my frozen porch in Arizona surrounded by the beautiful red rock formations that so captivated me the first time I came here in 1998, i could’ve never imagined that I’d find myself back. But then again, I could.

I made a video in Topanga Canyon, CA back in September 2014. In the video I’m sitting in the mountains saying, “I just need to get back to nature. I belong in nature.”

I had no idea that two weeks later I’d find myself back in my old stomping grounds in northern AZ surrounded by incredible nature; beginning anew.

Life is whatever you think it is. Thoughts become things. Focus on what you DO want and be grateful for what you have even if all you have is your goodness to share. We’re all just creating our own little movies as we go. The past 6 months have been an absolute whirlwind. The valleys climbed out of and mountains climbed up both metaphorically and literally were some of the biggest and most profound of my life. I went inward to find solace and while there transcended some serious shit I’d been hanging onto for a long time. Often it is in our deepest darkest hours that we find our way back “home” and find the space to create a new image for what we’d like our lives to become.

I let go of A LOT this year. At the edge of loss, I found surrender and profound true forgiveness (mostly of myself), and finally – clarity. In letting go and saying yes to the unknown, I found so much love waiting for me. I am immensely grateful to everyone and everything that saw me thru the journey. When I sit down and think of all the people around the country who have graciously given of their time, energy, and love, I am overflowing with love and gratitude.

Thanks so much to everyone for the birthday wishes. I hope you all had an amazing, magical new year. I see big changes ahead in 2015. Every day we must make the choice whether to focus on the old paradigm ideas of competition, judgement, fear, etc. OR to continue to build a new world from a place of gratitude, forgiveness, love, and acceptance. It might sound like hippie bullshit but these are the true tenants of a good life.

It doesn’t matter if you’re a “spiritual” person or not.

Just. Spread. Goodness.

Life is only as easy or as hard as you think it is and the stories we tell that comprise who we are and what we believe are just that – Stories…..Stories that we keep telling over and over again until they become our truth.

You can change your story anytime.

I am so very grateful for my story and the lessons I continue to learn from it every day.

Thanks everyone for being a part of it.

Happy New Year and many blessings for 2015. I think it’s going to be a groovy year. 🙂

Much love,

Shanna Banana

Leave a Reply

